Riverland College president appointed to state commission

March 2, 2019 (Written by:  PostBulletin)

ST. PAUL — The President of Riverland Community College was appointed Friday to the state’s Commission on Judicial Selection.

Dr. Adenuga (Nuga) Atewologun will represent the third judicial district, which includes communities in Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca and Winona counties. Atewologun was one of the 26 appointees announced Friday. Bob Gilbertson, a trial lawyer at Greene Espel PLLP, was also appointed to represent the third judicial district.

The 26 appointees include six at-large members and 20 district members — two from each of the ten judicial districts. The list of appointees include 13 people of color or indigenous people, 16 women, and seven incumbents, according to Governor Tim Walz’s office. A total of 49 members serve on the commission. All members terms expire on Jan. 2, 2023.

“We can’t have justice without diverse and inclusive courts,” Walz said in a statement. Walz said the announcement is part of the administration’s commitment to equity.
The Commission on Judicial Selection solicits, considers, and recommends candidates to the governor for vacancies in the District Trial Courts and the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals.